Gorilla Mindset by Mike Cernovich Is a Must Read

IMG_0759

Welcome to Rushie Law

Ah, today it’s Friday. The courts are closed. I wake up leisurely in my big house around 9:30am, answer some emails, and take some phone calls. My physical office is located a block from my house in Fishtown. After a session of Crossfit, I decide to ride my bike down to the pool, and work from there instead.

Why not?

My bike

My bike

It’s been a great year. I’ve got money in the bank. Earlier this month I took a few trips to the Poconos to shoot guns in the woods.

AJR woods

Right this second I’m looking into a taking a trip to Alaska because I want to ride a dog sled.

Being self employed, single, and having a few bucks in your 30s is absolutely fucking fantastic. Anyone who tells you differently is lying.

Three years ago my life was very different. I had a job working for a corporate law firm, and I was married. Most if not all my time went into billing hours and trying to work my way up to partner. At some point around 30, I knew I wanted more out of life but wasn’t sure how to go about it.

Enter Mike Cernovich, author of Danger & Play. His philosophy on life is considered radical, and even misogynistic by some. Men can save their money, develop streams of passive income, and live a lifestyle that is generally awesome. Mike is also an advocate of functional fitness, and generally being awesome at life. There are very few people whose advice I value. Cernovich is one of them. His blog changed my life.

I was stoked to hear that Mike decided to write a book, Gorilla Mindset. When it came out, I bought a copy on my Kindle, because that’s how I normally read books. When I first opened Gorilla Mindset, I was committed to reading a chapter or two. I read the entire book in one sitting. It’s that good. When I was finished, I ordered a second copy in print, so I could write on it and make notes.

Gorilla Mindset is a practical book of application. Mike starts by addressing your internal mindset, and then moves onto practical lifestyle application. If you actually go through the exercises, you will probably find that you have more purpose, more money, and more freedom.

One of the concepts Mike stresses is living within your means.

I don’t have cable. My home is a fixer upper:

IMG_0764.JPG

How could anyone live in such poverty?

I learned how to cook in order to save money:

breakfast

My car isn’t a BMW, but it’s pretty cool and completely paid off:

IMG_0758

I’d rather be offroading 

This means every dollar I earn is mine. I can use that money to travel, do Crossfit, or nothing whatsoever. This month I decided to install a Sonos stereo system in my house, because I listen to music a lot.

Based on Mike’s advice, I feel like a free person, living with purpose.

If you’re willing to listen to Mike, and decide to make changes, you can live the lifestyle of your dreams. Gorilla Mindset is a workbook that will help you get the most out of life.

It’s not for everyone, though. If your goal is to make $55k a year, work in a cubicle, and take a week’s vacation every year, you probably won’t like it. But if your goal is to make a bunch of money, enjoy your life, and be completely free, Gorilla Mindset is a life changing book.

Have fun this holiday weekend. I certainly plan to.

rough day

11 Responses to Gorilla Mindset by Mike Cernovich Is a Must Read

  1. guest says:

    Jordan, I’m very sorry to hear that you are no longer married. I thought I caught a reference to your status as single in an earlier post. My prayers go out to you and your ex-wife. I hope that you are both doing alright.

  2. lovingthelawpa says:

    not quite sure what that picture of your cooking is supposed to be, are you pushing your breasts together?

  3. Dave says:

    I see a lighter in that breakfast photo, are you smoking again? I thought you quit

  4. Woah, where do you live? I want an apartment with an all brick layout like yours. I love that atmosphere I’m not being sarcastic. This is my first time on the site btw.

  5. neildavis2002 says:

    Rushie, you are doing you’re thing brother. I got divorced a few years ago and got remarried to a woman who sees our marriage as a team, regards me as a true partner in life, and actually wants her husband to wear the pants, not a pair of panties.
    Looks like you got a good lady and a sweet ride. Nice AK too man. Every man should get an AK or AR. Hey, you know my motto: if Barbara Boxer tries to ban it, buy it. I love the financial philosophy you’ve put out here as well: Live simpler and use your money wisely instead of being frivolous and wasteful. I strive to do the same in my life.

  6. smboney says:

    I love your blog! I don’t know how much you love our american veterans but I’m willing to bet you know someone that is or is going into the military. I wrote a book about my experience as a combat medic in the Iraq war in hopes to bring awareness to PTSD and reduce the risk of suicide. Please check out my book and let me know if you would like to help me promote the book.http://amzn.com/B01FTA9J7K

    Thank you for your time,
    SM Boney IV

Leave a Reply

