Jury Duty.

I reported Monday morning to the Criminal Justice Center at 8am for Jury Duty. I think I was the only person remotely excited to be there.

I sat all day today in the Criminal Justice Center waiting to get called to a panel, watching scores of people groan as their names were called, trudging their way into voir dire. I waited for my name to be called.

And I waited straight through noon, when they let us out for lunch. And I waited when we got back from lunch at 1.00pm.

Finally, around 3.30pm, I heard my name and got my juror number — 65. We took the elevator up to the 11th floor and waited in the jury box. After sitting another 30 minutes, the crier came out and announced that we weren’t needed, and we should go back downstairs where they’d dismiss us.

Damn.

At least I got my $9.00 check to show for it. That, and a lack of sleep, since I spent another 8 hours making up for the work I missed.

Maybe I’ll have better luck next time.

4 Responses to Jury Duty.

  1. Michael Olinik says:

    My chance is January 9th! Last time, I was dismissed in a civil case.

  2. Shawn says:

    You’re not the only one who gets excited by Jury Duty. I personally love it, and would volunteer if they let me!

  3. Rob Switzer says:

    Same thing happened to me last year! I was excited to see how I would be treated as a criminal defense attorney. Waited all day and never even got called into a courtroom.

    I did do jury duty once when I was in college, and actually got selected. I loved the experience.

  4. John says:

    I’m looking forward to three weeks ‘stand-by’ for federal petty jury service next week. Hope I get called and don’t have to do the 60-mile drive to the courthouse for nothing.

Leave a Reply

